Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Emergency On-the-Go Pack January 7, 2011

Like many of you, we carry two EpiPens wherever we go, just in case.  Upon buying my sixteenth spur-of-the-moment bottle of Children’s Benadryl, I also began carrying that with us all the time.  After that we added an inhaler to the portable pharmacy in my purse.  And, then…I couldn’t find ANYTHING!

 

Finally, I got smart.  I decided to put together an emergency pack for my son where all his medications could be easily retrieved.

 

Since the emergency medications might need to be used urgently, the container had to be easily opened and indestructible. I opted to use a 3″ x 6″ tupperware container.  All my essentials fit in perfectly and the pack isn’t so bulky that I can’t stick it in my purse easily.

 

My pack contains:

1.  My son’s two Epi-Pens,

2.  The instructions for their use,

3.   An asthma inhaler; and

4.  Children’s Benadryl Perfect Measure Single-Use spoons.

 

I’ve found that there are many benefits to having an On-the-Go pack like this.  First, it keeps all his meds in one place — there’s no need to roam around my bag and check all those side pockets.  Secondly, it’s easy to transfer.  For example, if I’m switching from my day bag to pool bag, I can transfer just one item rather than having to account for many.  Finally, it easily goes where my son does.  When my son heads off to a playdate or enjoys an afternoon with his grandparents, it’s simple to pass along those medications that should accompany him to another adult in charge and eliminates some of the questions about what to do if he has a reaction.

 

10 Responses to “Emergency On-the-Go Pack”

  1. […] OFF YOUR EMERGENCY ON-THE-GO Pack (https://shmallergy.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/emergency-on-the-go-pack/) or EPIPENS with your child- AND demonstrate with the trainer EpiPen how to use them should an […]

  2. busymomof3 Says:

    A suggestion regarding emergency pack: add a pair of child’s safety scissors. I have a hard time opening the single dose Benadryl packages. If I needed to open them fast (while in an absolute panic) I know that I would be able to do so easily with the scissors.

  3. […]  My son’s Emergency On-the-Go Kit (Allergy Shmallergy’s Emergency On-the-Go Pack), including EpiPens, dissolvable Benadryl, and small scissors; […]

  4. […] bring your emergency medications.  As if you leave home without that anyway!  In addition to our On-the-Go Emergency Kit, I also bring my son’s nebulizer and accompanying medications (in case he has an asthmatic […]

  5. […]  If you’ll be trick-or-treating with your child, remember to bring their Emergency On-the-Go-Pack (with EpiPens) and a cellphone in addition to a flashlight. I have often brought a grocery bag to […]

  6. […]  If you’ll be trick-or-treating with your child, remember to bring their Emergency On-the-Go-Pack (with EpiPens) and a cellphone in addition to a flashlight. I have often brought a grocery bag to […]

  7. […] Emergency On-the-Go Pack corrals all your emergency medication, including your auto-injector, plus your Emergency Action […]

  8. […] summer, my son took the initiative one day to pack a sports sackpack with his emergency on-the-go pack as well as his most recent allowance and, of course, his awesome neon sunglasses.  He was so […]

  9. […] AUTO-INJECTORS: Always carry your Emergency Medication Pack which includes your epinephrine […]

  10. […] stick a lunch box sized cooler pack in the insulated cooler bag, throw in my Emergency On-The-Go Pack already stocked with my son’s autoinjectors (or wrap them in a kitchen towel) to keep them […]


Leave a Reply

