Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Did You Know Some Vitamins Contain Allergens?! September 19, 2011

Have you ever read the back of a vitamin bottle?  Not just the supplement facts, but the ingredient list?  I was surprised to find just how many common allergens can be found in a given children’s multivitamin.  You’ll probably need a magnifying glass to do it, but it may be worth your time to check.

 

Ever since Silk Soy Milk became a cross-contaminated product (with tree nuts) – one that we could no longer purchase – my FA son has been boycotting all soy and rice milk products.  My concern began to focus on calcium intake.  After stocking up on calcium fortified orange juice, I turned to a multivitamin.

 

I sat down and got comfy in the aisle of our local pharmacy and studied the Supplement Facts section of each bottle to determine which had the most calcium.  I scanned the long lists of ingredients of each product I considered, made my choice, and headed home. My younger son loved them; my FA son…not so much.

 

A few days into the vitamin regime, I randomly skimmed the back of the bottle again.  I don’t know what made me do it, but I’m glad I did.  Among the nine, long lines of teeny tiny printed ingredients was lactose.  Milk!  In a vitamin!  I couldn’t believe it!  He showed no symptoms, thank goodness, and I couldn’t believe I had missed it the first time.

 

Having investigated further since this discovery, I’ve noticed that many vitamins contain common allergens.   In addition to dairy, I’ve seen children’s vitamins that contain wheat, soy, dyes of all colors, corn, and strawberry.

 

To solve my dilemma, I again took a seat– this time, in the aisle of a vitamin store — and carefully read the backs of all of their multivitamins.  I went home with one that contains soy, but is free of wheat, yeast, gluten, milk, artificial colors and all nut derivatives.  I feel much better about its safety and it satisfies my son’s supplement needs.  Now, let’s just hope he likes it…

 

 

3 Responses to “Did You Know Some Vitamins Contain Allergens?!”

  1. I just came across your blog! Have you tried the http://www.yummibears.com sold at most health food stores or lil’ critters sold at Target, Walmart etc? My son loves the Yummy Bear Calcium Chews but for the multivitamin I give them both http://www.vitaminshoppe.com/store/en/browse/sku_detail.jsp?id=NT-2012 Natures Plus Animal Parade Baby Plex Liquid Vitamins.

    • malawer Says:

      Thanks for the suggestions. I wound up getting something my kids like but is only available at a vitamin store. I’m definitely going to check out Yummi Bears Calcium chews next time I’m at Target! Perfect solution!

      • malawer Says:

        Tried Dr. Sears vitamins from the Vitamin Shoppe. My boys both LOVE them! Plus, they’re free of all allergens and dyes.


Leave a Reply

