Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

I Eat Park City March 28, 2012

Okay, well I didn’t eat all of Park City.   But it was my vacation too, and I’m not cooking!  So, after another great day of skiing we ventured out.  This time to Wasatch Brew Pub and Cantina.

image

Having eaten at Wasatch in the past, my husband led us up Main St.  We were seated upstairs and carefully eyed the menu for dishes my son could safely eat.

 

While our waiter was filling our drinks at the bar, I strolled over to ask a few food allergy questions before I presented my son with menu options.  I was so sincerely impressed with, and appreciative of, the answers from both our waiter and the nearby food manager.  They were sooooo accommodating and showed a thorough understanding of food allergy safety.

 

Here’s what you need to know:

 
  • Their fry oil is vegetable in which they fry only french fries and chicken fingers.
  • They make their own (sesame seed-free, nut-free) pizza dough on-site.
  • Wasatch offers gluten-free buns/breads.
  • In the interest of full disclosure, I was told there are nuts in kitchen (for salad and the trout) – not used in their fryer.
  • They did not have information whether sesame seeds might be present in the hamburger buns, so we abstained.
 

I guessed aloud that my son would probably order a burger to be safe….to which the food manager replied that she’d feel better if the kitchen used a separate, clean pan to sear my son’s burger away from the grill for safety.  The instinct was right on and I was more than appreciative.

 

And, as if that weren’t enough, our waiter came to speak to my husband and I while we waited for our food.  “I just want to let you know, our manager is watching the line like a hawk!”    I don’t think we could have loved this place more!

 

…until I had their mac and cheese.  When my son can eat dairy, we’re coming back for bucketsful!

 
 

4 Responses to “I Eat Park City”

  1. phdmama Says:

    Thanks for your post! I love your blog! Isn’t it heart warming when restaurant waiters/managers/chefs are so attentive to simple needs and requests? Once we were in Philly with my boys who have wheat and nut allergies among others, and the waitress was so attentive I ended up leaving her a major tip – like 30%.

    • malawer Says:

      We did the same! And, I wrote an email to the manager to express my gratitude. I can’t stop thanking them!

  2. Jess Says:

    I know you wrote this post 3 years ago, but I still want to thank you for providing such helpful and detailed information on your experiences. We are currently in Park City and are about to become locals (my husband just accepted a new job in SLC). Our 5 year old daughter is severely allergic to peanuts and tree nuts and so far we have had to turn around from 4 different restaurants for their cross-contamination issues. We travel all the time and have never had so many issues finding a safe place for her to eat out. I have been so disheartened…until I found your blog. It makes me feel better that safe places do exsist! Thank you again!

    • malawer Says:

      I’m so happy these posts have helped! If you come across some good finds, please let me know. We’re headed back to PC and I’d love to try some new places!


Leave a Reply

