Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

An Opportunity to Help July 25, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — malawer @ 2:24 pm

 

Mandate insurance coverage of Epinephrine Injectors under the Affordable Care Act

 

A reader of Allergy Shmallergy just contacted me with some interesting information.  She informed me that the Afforable Care Act does not cover epinephrine injectors.    These life-saving devices are critical for people with life-threatening food allergies.  I can’t imagine the day-to-day worry I would have if I didn’t know that I had epinephrine handy.

 

Our reader informed me that she has written a petition on Change.org asking the US government to mandate that all insurance plans cover epinephrine autoinjectors.  

 

I urge everyone to take a look at the petition, consider signing and passing along this information. 

 

Mandate Insurance Coverage of Epinephrine Injectors Under the Afforable Care Act

 

Thank you for your consideration on behalf of a fellow reader and me.

 

 

4 Responses to “An Opportunity to Help”

  1. Stef2Gmail Says:

    Hi Allergy Shmallergy. Has this been posted on FARE’d a or Allergic Living’s Facebook page?

    Stefanie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • malawer Says:

      I’m not sure if the authors of the petition contacted them, but that would be a great place to spread the word!

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Signed from a UK resident but US citizen. The idea that they aren’t covering epipens is horrifying. Thanks for sharing it around and I hope it has some impact.

  3. Great stuff! Thank you for sharing this, epipens are essential to people with allergies so let us do this for a cause.


Leave a Reply

