Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Farmers’ Markets Might Just Be Fabulous January 26, 2015

Today, my daughter and I took a little field trip to Union Market in Northeast DC to have lunch with my brother from out of town.  Leave it to him to already be tuned into the cool DC-find that is Union Market.

2015/01/img_7584.jpg

I pulled into a ghost town of a closed wholesale food district and thought I must be lost.  But as I have a fascination with industrial areas of cities (don’t even ASK where that comes from!), I was fascinated, not flummoxed.  Making one last turn, I stumbled upon the spot.  A bright, industrial warehouse housing what is basically an upscale, indoor farmers market and series of food stalls.  I’m glad I had only brought my try-anything toddler.  I’ve long been a little leery of farmer’s markets, food trucks and small stalls because of their limited offerings and my belief that the limits of their kitchens might make for a potentially dangerous cross-contamination situation.  With my oldest son allergic to peanuts, tree nuts and sesame seeds and my middle guy going through a picky eater phase, this type of establishment can be a disaster.

But, boy was I surprised today!!  Look at some of the great things I found today:

Here was a bakery that posted the ingredients of all of their breads (and there were MANY – all delicious looking).  Notice what they don’t list:  dairy, eggs, sesame seeds, and peanuts**?

[**I did ask at the stall and the breads were made in the same facility as tree nuts.]

2015/01/img_7574.jpg2015/01/img_7572.jpg

2015/01/img_7573.jpg

While not everything fit the allergy-free mold here, they did have several dairy-free options:

2015/01/img_7576.jpg2015/01/img_7575.jpg

Vegan means egg and dairy-free!

2015/01/img_7581.jpg

Let us not forget all the fresh fish, meat, fruit and vegetables on hand to prepare something safe and delicious at home:

2015/01/img_7579.jpg          2015/01/img_7592.jpg

2015/01/img_7589.jpg

I can’t wait to bring my food allergic son here (below)!  I checked with the staff and their biscuits are peanut, tree nut and sesame seed-free!  Breakfast sandwiches on biscuits.  I’m still stuffed but my mouth is watering!  Mmmm…

2015/01/img_7591.jpg

And, my younger son will LOVE the bagels they import (below) from New York.  There’s nothing like a NY bagel!

 IMG_7586

Whether it’s Union Market, Eastern Market, or a farmer’s market near you, get out and explore.  These small businesses were extremely responsive to our allergy concerns and, no matter whether the food was safe or not, I LOVE supporting them!

2015/01/img_7585.jpg

Union Market, Washington DC

 

Leave a Reply

