Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Gluten-Free, Nut-Free Tortilla Chip-Crusted Tilapia February 27, 2015

Kind of by accident, I created one delicious dinner tonight.  Don’t you LOVE when that happens?!  I was planning to make Cooking Light’s Chip-Crusted Cod Fillets. But a few things went wacky…

First, my husband bought tilapia instead of cod.  Overcomeable.  Second, I realized I didn’t have the kind of chips the recipe called for.  That is sort of the corner stone to their recipe.  And, then I keep reading and decided I didn’t like the idea of dipping the fish into ranch dressing. But I DID like the idea of seasoned fish. So, I took it my own direction…

…And it was amazing!    I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

IMG_3302

Tortilla Chip-Crusted Tilapia

Ingredients

4 tilapia fillets (approximately 6 oz each)

2 tsp of mayonnaise (or if you’re allergic to egg, try soy mayonnaise)

1 tsp of ranch dressing

Approx. 2 oz (or two handfuls) of tortilla chips, crushed

a few pinches of sea salt

medium salsa

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Place tilapia fillets on parchment paper on baking sheet.  Sprinkle fillets with sea salt.  Next, spread 1/2 tsp of mayonnaise over the top of each fillet.  Add 1/4 tsp of ranch dressing to the top of each fillet and spread.  Cover each fillet with crushed tortilla chips and lightly press into place.  Bake for 15 minutes or until flaky.  Serve with dollop of salsa and try not to eat someone else’s tilapia once you’re done with your own.

 

 

Leave a Reply

