Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Seeking All Allergy-Friendly Bakeries July 9, 2015

Baked goods that are dairy, egg, wheat or nut-free are hard to come by.  They’re even harder to come by should you want or need something custom, like a birthday cake.

That’s where our Allergy-Friendly Bakeries List comes in handy!

Do you know of a great allergy-friendly bakery?  Send us the info!

We’re compiling a list of allergy-friendly bakeries across the US, Canada, and beyond.  **Please be sure to do your own research before ordering to ensure the products are safe for you as individual’s allergies and requirements differ.**

Feel free to comment below with your information or send the details to me at erin@allergystrong.com.

Also:  Live in or near Washington?  Check out the post Allergy-Friendly Bakeries in the DC Metro Area.

 

4 Responses to “Seeking All Allergy-Friendly Bakeries”

  1. yvonne.odegard@gmail.com Says:

    Greetings!

    I wanted to let you know about my egg-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free bakery, “Sweet Serenity Bakery LLC”. We are a custom order, home based bakery in Bristow, VA.

    We offer a variety of delicious cakes, cupcakes, frostings, fondant, cookies and other treats all made fresh from scratch in our egg-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free bakery using natural wholesome ingredients. We also do not use any artificial flavorings, preservatives, hydrogenated oils, or high fructose corn syrup.

    One of my 5 dear children has several life threatening food allergies. He was the inspiration and the motivation for me to develop my recipes. I wanted to be absolutely sure that his treats were safe, and that their taste and texture is as good as and even better than “regular” baked goods. After winning several awards on my cupcakes, competing against standard (with egg) cupcakes, I was encouraged to start my own bakery.

    As a mom with a severely allergic child and having allergies myself (peanuts, treenuts, and shellfish) I know first hand how even a minute particle of an allergen can have deadly consequences. So none of these foods ever enter our home. Every ingredient is meticulously checked, and I contact manufactures for anything we find questionable.

    When you order one of my baked goodies, you have the peace of mind knowing that they will be absolutely delicious, beautiful, and completely free of egg, peanut, and tree nut, …Now that’s “Sweet Serenity”

    I would love to have my bakery listed on your site and welcome you to check out Sweet Serenity Bakery LLC for yourself at http://www.sweetserenitybakery.com

    Kindest regards,

    Yvonne Odegard

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Megan Says:

    Hi Erin! Must see Jennifer’s Way bakery — in NYC, but they ship. Strictly gluten-free for folks with celiac, but under the FAQ section on their website you will find all their “frees”, including nut, dairy, soy and others. Might be nice to flag places that ship as you compile your list?
    Keep up the great work!

  3. jfstackle Says:

    Hi there,
    I own Kip’s Nut-Free Kitchen in Carlsbad, CA (north San Diego County). I am a cottage food operation (County-inspected home kitchen) selling handmade granola bars and cookies that are 100% free of peanuts and tree nuts. I started this business because my son has life threatening food allergies and asthma, and we were searching for safe snacks and treats.

    I sell direct as well as in four grocery stores in San Diego. My granola bars are sold frozen, in bulk. I would greatly appreciate being included in your directory!

    http://www.kipsnutfree.com
    Facebook.com/kipsnutfree

    Jenny Stackle, Owner
    Kip’s Nut-Free Kitchen

  4. Andrea Says:

    Hi Erin!

    A couple of my recs:

    +1 to having Happy Tart on your list! They’re in the Del Ray neighborhood of Alexandria, VA: http://happytartbakery.com/ and made my gluten free wedding cake! Her caramel cake/cupcakes are amazing!

    – I loved Rose’s Wheat Free Bakery outside of Chicago, but I can’t seem to locate a website now. It’s been a couple of years, so maybe they are no longer around (which would be so sad!!).

    – I haven’t tried this place yet, but I’m excited to: http://www.riseglutenfree.com/ They have GF croissants on their menu!! CROISSANTS.


Leave a Reply

