Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Sesame Seed-Free (and Dairy, Egg and Nut-Free!) Chinese Sauces August 2, 2012

When you have a sesame seed allergy, eating Chinese food is nearly impossible.  Even cooking Chinese can be tricky since so many prepared sauces contain sesame seeds or sesame oil or both!  But, inspired by one of our Shmallergy readers, I restarted my quest to find safe prepared sauces and alternative recipes so we can all enjoy Asian food at home!

 

As I was collecting ingredients to MAKE Hoisin sauce (recipe below), I stumbled upon Kikkoman’s Hoisin sauce.  And guess what?!  It’s sesame free!  That was WAY too easy.

But if you can’t find Kikkoman sauce (as I couldn’t for the last six years), here’s a Hoisin sauce recipe that’s easy to prepare.

 

INGREDIENTS:

4 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons black bean paste (found in the Asian section of your local grocery store or at Whole Foods)
1 tablespoon honey or molasses or brown sugar
2 teaspoons white vinegar
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder or 1 finely minced garlic clove
2 teaspoons safflower oil
20 drops chinese hot sauce, habenero or jalepeno
1/8 teaspoon black pepper

 

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine ingredients together in medium bowl.
  2. Whisk together until well combined.   (It may appear like it won’t mix well at first, but keep whisking longer and it will come together.)

 

I haven’t had as much luck finding Plum Sauce at the market.  So here’s an easy recipe to try from allrecipes.com.  I haven’t given it a shot yet, but would love to hear how it turns out if anyone gets to it before me!

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 3/4 (16 ounce) jar plum jam
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon dried minced onion
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine jam, vinegar, brown sugar, dried onion, red pepper, garlic and ginger.
  2. Bring to a boil, stirring.
  3. Remove from heat.
 
NB:  Here were a few suggestions: Use the whole 18 oz jar of plum jam, omit the pepper, and add a couple of tablespoons of soy sauce.  It is possible to substitute minced garlic for garlic powder as in Hoisin Sauce recipe.
Warm sauce for second use; it  can congeal a bit once cool.
 

Correction: Pizza Nut… I Mean Pizza Hut… February 18, 2012

Update:  While it appears that Pizza Hut has updated their allergen information to remove some of their peanut and tree nut designations on their menu, I was still surprised to see what allergens were present in non-obvious menu items.  For example, their sauce still contains egg, dairy, wheat, soy, shellfish and gluten.  The lasagna contains tree nuts.  I stand by my recommendation below to check their allergen list before visiting or ordering from a Pizza Hut if you have food allergies.

Updated Pizza Hut Allergen List

http://www.pizzahut.com/files/pdf/updated%20ph%20allergen%20list%2004.17.09.pdf

 —————————————–

I had heard through the grapevine that Pizza Hut’s sauce is not safe for people with tree nut allergies.   Sure enough, if you check on their website, not only is Pizza Hut’s sauce made on equipment commonly used to manufacture tree nut products, but also egg, milk, wheat, soy and shellfish products.   If you frequent Pizza Hut, it might be worth it to check out their allergen chart as I found many surprise cross-contamination issues.